Elections decide leadership for INS and PTI

Comment   Email   Print

India's peak publishing bodies have chosen their heads with Malayala Manorama executive editor Jayant Mammen Mathew elected president of the Indian Newspaper Society, and publisher and former editor-in-chief of The Hindu N. Ravi elected chairman of the Press Trust of India.

The two organisations held their elections on consecutive days.

Jayant Mammen Mathew succeeds Akila Urankar of the Business Standard. Shailesh Gupta (Mid Day) has been elected deputy president and L. Adimoolam (Health and The Antiseptic) as the vice-president of the INS.

Lav Saksena will serve as secretary general, with Sharad Saxena (Hindustan Times) as honorary treasurer.

Viveck Goenka (The Indian Express), Mahendra Mohan Gupta (Dainik Jagran), Mohit Jain (Economic Times), Vijay Jawaharlal Darda (Lokmat), Vijay Kumar Chopra (Punjab Kesari), Rajiv Verma (Hindustan Times), Sumanta Pal (Amar Ujala) and Atideb Sarkar (The Telegraph) join the 42-strong executive committee.

At the Press Trust of India, Vijay Kumar Chopra (Punjab Kesari Group) was elected vice-chairman.

Ravi succeeds Viveck Goenka, chairman and managing director of the Express Group. He is a former chairman of the India Chapter of the International Press Institute and was president of the Editors' Guild of India. He joined The Hindu in 1972.

Other Press Trust of India board members are Mahendra Mohan Gupta (Dainik Jagran), K.N. Shanth Kumar (Deccan Herald), Vineet Jain (Times of India), Riyad Mathew (Malayala Manorama), Aveek Kumar Sarkar (Anand Bazar Patrika), M.P. Veerendra Kumar (Mathrubhumi), R. Lakshmipathy (Dinamalar), Hormusji N. Cama (Bombay Samachar), Justice R.C. Lahoti, Deepak Nayyar, Shyam Saran and J.F. Pochkhanawalla.

Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: