End of the PANPA era as awards go platform agnostic

Comment   Email   Print

Australia's NewsMediaWorks has dumped the globally-known 'PANPA' brand in what it says is an "important evolution" of its annual awards.

The new look awards combine the former PANPA Newspaper of the Year awards - which would have been in their fiftieth year -and the Advertising and Marketing Awards to create the News Media Awards.

The top awards will go to the 'News Brand of the Year".

The group says the change reflects audience engagement across print and digital, and is a new emphasis on platform agnostic news brands. Entry in most categories is restricted to members of NewsMediaWorks - which is owned by News Corp Australia, Fairfax Media and West Australian Newspapers - but this year some categories are being opened to advertising creative developed either in-house by advertisers, publishers or by a third party such as an agency.

The awards recognise excellence in cross platform news publishing in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific.

PANPA - standing for Pacific Area Newspaper Publishers' Association - had its origins in the former Web Offset Newspaper Association, as the then-new printing technology swept across Australia and New Zealand. Today's announcement draws a line across that history, and offers one open technical excellence award - for run-of-press printing, single or double-width - and retains the print centre of the year award. There is also a 'best use of print' category among those of product innovation.

One survivor of the PANPA era is the $10,000 Hegarty scholarship, established in 1987 in memory of former PANPA executive director Patrick Hegarty (1983- 1986). The bursary allows a young executive to travel overseas to tour an aspect of newsmedia operations.

Chief executive Peter Miller says the awards programme must evolve as the news media sector evolves "to remain relevant to the publishers and products it represents".

Reuniting the publishing, advertising and marketing awards recognises that successful news media organisations have always been a collaboration between both content and commercial teams, he says. "One cannot survive without the other."

The new-look awards will be presented at a gala dinner September 14 at Sydney's Hilton hotel at the conclusion of the Inform News Media Summit. Entries open on March 12 and close on April 27.

Categories are:

News brand categories

  • News Brand of the Year (Daily, Weekend, Regional, Community and Overall winner)
  • News Story of the Year

Advertising categories

  • Best Execution of Print Advertising for a Client
  • Best Execution of Digital Advertising for a Client
  • Best Execution of Native Advertising for a Client
  • Best Execution of Integrated Advertising for a Client
  • Best Innovation for an Advertising Client

Marketing categories

  • Best Trade Marketing Campaign
  • Best Consumer Brand Campaign
  • Best Subscriber Acquisition Campaign
  • Best Community or Social-Purpose Initiative

Product innovation categories

  • Best Use of Print
  • Best Use of Digital
  • Best Use of Mobile
  • Innovation of the Year

Photography categories

  • Portrait, Feature or Lifestyle photography
  • Sport Photography
  • News Photography
  • Photographic Essay

Technical categories

  • Best Run of Press
  • Print Centre of the Year

Executive excellence categories

  • Hegarty Scholarship for Best Young Executive (under 35)
  • News Media Executive of the Year

For more information and to download the awards categories and conditions visit www.newsmediaawards.com.au

Read more from:
Comment   Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: