Roles for Aussies and Indians in INMA’s board, Young Professionals

May 06, 2021 at 10:58 am by admin

Members from Australia and India are among 11 top media executives elected to INMA’s board of directors ahead of its World Congress, which opens tomorrow.

They are Nine chief digital and publishing officer Chris Janz and Sivakumar Sundaram, who is chairman of Times of India publisher Bennett Coleman & Company’s executive committee.

Additionally, Belle Tayler (pictured) Nine Australia’s head of brand and acquisition, has been appointed as chair of INMA’s Young Professionals Committee, which oversees the association’s Young Professionals Initiative.

Stephen Dunbar-Johnson, the New York Times Company’s international president, was elected second vice president of the INMA board’s executive committee.

The full list of those elected to new board terms or recently appointed to the Board is as follows:

Alexandra Beverfjord, Editor-in-Chief and CEO, Dagbladet (Aller Media), Norway;

P.J. Browning, President Newspaper Division, Evening Post Publishing, United States;

Lotta Edling, Editorial Director, Bonnier News, Sweden;

Chris Janz, Chief Digital and Publishing Officer, Nine, Australia;

Mapula Nkosi, Editor-in-Chief, Daily Sun (Media 24), South Africa;

Martha Ortiz, Chief Editor, El Colombiano, Colombia;

Sivakumar Sundaram, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Bennett Coleman & Company Ltd. (BCCL), India;

Siv Juvik Tveitnes, Executive Vice President of News Media, Schibsted, Norway; and

Gert Ysebaert, CEO, Mediahuis, Belgium.

New INMA Board terms begin June 1.

INMA president Damian Eales, global head of transformation for News Corp, lauded three executives departing the board upon their terms’ expirations, including: Espen Egil Hansen (formerly Editor-in-Chief and CEO, Aftenposten, Norway), Katharina Neubert (Director Business Development, Insider, United States), and D.D. Purkayastha, formerly Managing Director and CEO, ABP, India.

Eales also recognised two board members who have stepped down in the past year – Greg Piechota of Agora in Poland and Rika Swart of Media 24 in South Africa.

The INMA Board of Directors is the fiduciary body overseeing the association’s activities worldwide.

Sections: Newsmedia industry


or Register to post a comment