Full speaker lineup for next week’s virtual World News Media Congress

Nov 25, 2021 at 02:40 am by admin

It’s not the live event you’d been hoping for, but next week’s virtual WAN-Ifra World News Media Congress includes all the familiar elements and a raft of top speakers.

The event takes place from Monday (November 29) to Thursday (December 2), with an opening programme including the presentation of the Golden Pen of Freedom. Other elements include the World Media Leaders Summit themed on redefining news in 'the new normal’, the World Editors Summit, the Women in News Summit, and presentation of the worldwide Digital Media Awards.

All sessions are on Central European time (CET), with videos accessible to members and participants after the event.

Speakers include:


Opening– WAN-Ifra president Fernando de Yarza López-Madrazo (pictured).

Business barometer – Lisa MacLeod (FT Strategies), Damian Radcliffe (Columbia University), Rasmus Nielsen (Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism) and Justin Eisenband (FTI Consulting).

Driving data-driven decisions in content planning – Sheena Bhalla (Google News Initiative), Michael Anthony Pelini (Google).

Attracting and keeping talent to build equitable, safe, and sustainable newsrooms – Toyosi Ogunseye (BBC, Nigeria), Nyein Nyein Naing (7Day Media, Myanmar), Samia Nakhoul (Thomson Reuters, Lebanon), Edyth Kambalame (The Nation on Sunday, Malawi).

Executive strategy briefing: Navigating 2022 and beyond – Alexandra Borchardt (Reuters Institute for Journalism at the University of Oxford), Stig Ørskov (JP/Politikens Hus, Denmark), Kristin Skogen Lund (Schibsted, Norway), Adam Bird (McKinsey & Company, Germany).



Thriving During a Crisis – Lucy Kueng (Reuters Institute, Oxford University), Sinead Boucher (Stuff, New Zealand), Bharat Gupta (Jagran New Media, India), Retno Pinasti (SCTV & Indosiar, Emtek, Indonesia).

Solutions Showcase – Maria Belém (WAN-Ifra), Thomas Steisel (Froomle), Robert Ivanov (iApps Technologies), Matthew Parkes (Lineup Systems), Michael Taylor (Stibo DX), Dan Seaman (Viafoura, Canada).

Facing the Headwinds in Print & Distribution – Gundula Ullah (Funke Mediengruppe, Germany), Hans Peter Nissen (JP/Politiken Media Group, Denmark), Paul Huybrechts (Coldset Printing Partners, Belgium).

From Anonymous to Known – Virginia Melero (WAN-Ifra), Philippa Jenkins (The Independent, UK), Mark Zohar (Viafoura).

Digital Media World Awards Ceremony and four case histories – K.S. Dakshina Murthy (The Federal, India), Ken Doctor (Lookout Local, USA), Olayinka Owate (Pulse, Nigeria), Kanyinsola Aroyewun (Pulse), Clémence Lemaistre (Les Echos, France).



Journalism's Big Challenge – Paula Fray (Fraycollege, South Africa), Alessandra Galloni (Reuters, UK), Wolfgang Blau (Oxford Climate Journalism Network, UK), Warren Fernandez (The Straits Times & SPH's English/Malay/Tamil Media Group, Singapore), Liz Corbin (European Broadcasting Union, Switzerland).

What Happens When AI Meets the Newsroom – Vincent Peyrègne (WAN-Ifra), Adriaan Basson (News24), Gordon Edall (Sophi.io, Canada), John Hassel (Advance Local, USA).

Golden Pen Award & Press Freedom Round Table– Guy Berger (UNESCO), Lisa MacLeod (FT Strategies, UK), Mijal Iastrebner (SembraMedia, Argentina), Dame Frances Cairncross (UK), Antonia Kerle (Economist Impact, UK), Camille Eiss (Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project, USA).

How news automation can strengthen the local journalism offer – Cecilia Campbell (United Robots, Sweden), Linn Grundberg (Örnsköldsviks Allehanda, Sweden), Mads Ommundsen (Fædrelandsvennen, Norway).

The 2022 Newsroom and Beyond – Dmitry Shishkin (WEF Board Member, UK), Matt Murray (The Wall Street Journal & Dow Jones Newswires, USA), Alison Gow (Reach, UK), Chani Guyot (RED/ACCIÓN, Argentina), Federica Cherubini (Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism, UK).



Journalism in the Age of Influencers – Sarah Marshall (Vogue, UK), Winston Utomo (IDN Media, Indonesia), Saxon Phipps (Year13, Australia), Jacque Manabat (ABS-CBN, Philippines).

The Way Forward: Partnerships, Products and Programmes To Drive Digital Transformation– Anjali Kapoor (Meta), Jesper Doub (Meta), Wahyu Dhyatmika (Tempo Digital, Indonesia).

After COP26 – what’s next for ‘green media’– Kirsty Styles (University of Central Lancashire, UK), Markus Ahlberg (Schibsted, Sweden), Martha Henriques (BBC Future Planet, UK), Pierre Petillault (Alliance de la Presse d'Information Générale, France), Meera Selva (Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism, UK).

Looking Forward: Building the future of journalism today– Vincent Peyrègne (WAN-Ifra), Sam Guzik (Future Today Institute, USA).

How to Adapt to the New(s) Abnormal– Juan Señor (Innovation Media Consulting Group, UK), Inês Bravo (Innovation Media Consulting Group, Portugal), Kizito Namulanda (Standard Group, Kenya), Kathleen Capetta (Compass Media, USA).

Programme details are here; To register, visit here. GXpress is a media partner.

Sections: Newsmedia industry


or Register to post a comment