Awards recognise courageous women journalists

Jan 15, 2014 at 12:45 am by Staff

The International Women’s Media Foundation is seeking nominations for its 25th Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards in 2014.

Awardees will be honoured at ceremonies in New York on October 22 and Los Angeles on October 29. The awards recognise women journalists who set themselves apart by their extraordinary bravery. Facing and surviving danger to uncover the truth, they raise the bar for reporting under duress.

The scheme also recognises – with Lifetime Achievement Awards – pioneers who “kicked down barriers” to make it possible for women all over the world to find their voices and make them heard.

The IWMF has established an emergency fund for women journalists to support the urgent needs of awardees and others with everything from medical assistance to emergency relocation for journalists or loved ones.

More details at to

Nominations for the 2014 awards must be submitted by February 14. Stay updated by following #IWMFcourage (@IWMF) on Twitter, and liking IWMF on Facebook.

Sections: Digital business


or Register to post a comment